20 Days on WordPress: Lessons in Blogging

Today marks my 20th Day on

Wordpress

WordPress has been a journey, a revelation and a companion.

What was I doing before I came to WordPress?

I was on Blogger .

Blogger wasn’t a bad platform at all but, it lacked easy content discovery. I had to manually post links of posts on my Facebook and twitter profiles and keep waiting for responses (which did not turn up). Blogger was also pretty bad at Stats. My blog has 1550 lifetime views when not more than 50 people have visited it (going by Google Analytics). It didn’t have a prominent tagging system. I had friends who were on WordPress who told me how good it was.

That was how and why I made the switch.

A New Beginning.

The very first Post I wrote garnered two likes and was reblogged. That may sound silly to you but, it made my day. That was when I started discovering the reach and ease of WordPress.

 

20 Days on WordPress have taught me a few WordPress specific things:

  • The best way to get people to see your blog is to write on Dailypost topics (Don’t forget to pingback and tag)
  • 2 likes is the lowest you can get. (Anything below that means a lack of good content or bad tagging)
  • People follow you mainly because of the tags you wrote on (and not always because of the content)
  • Pictures speak a thousand words PERIOD (Google Advanced Image search can come in handy in addition to Flickr and others)
  • WPChallenge offers a 1 by 100 chance of success in getting Freshly Pressed. (While a general post has a chance close to 1 by 1,000,000)
  • There are sites on WordPress where you can publish your posts to a larger and like-minded audience (Like poetreecreations.org for poetry)
  • Humor and Inconventional (which is the unconventional term for ‘unconventional’) writing will be appreciated and Freshly Pressed.
  • Anything more than a thousand and five hundred words will not be fully read (or read at all)
  • The theme need not be spectacular. (It just shouldn’t annoy the reader)
  • A reader is a guest. (A comment needs a reply. A suggestion needs a nod. Criticism needs acceptance)
  • If not for Akismet, each blog post will receive an average of 10 comments daily (Spam comments, I forgot to mention)

You can take all this as advice or just as facts a fellow blogger discovered.

Don’t you want to read:

Thanks for reading (You are my guest! 😀 )

Good luck!

Happy Blogging!

What do you think?

