The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring – J.R.R Tolkien | Book Review

Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

                   I remember starting this blog only to write book reviews. This was primarily because, the more I reviewed, the more I’d have actually read. It was my own way of motivating myself into reading and not while away my leisure time on Facebook. However, WordPress proved too versatile and diverse and I couldn’t just stick to book reviews. I wrote all that came to my mind and all that DailyPost posted. Now, I think I should get back to the foundations of my blog by reviewing ‘The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring‘.

Plot (No Major Spoilers):

                   Bilbo Baggins, the timid Middle-Earth hobbit, passes his ring to Frodo, his adopted son, who has to journey far and wide to prevent the war that threatens to break out. He is accompanied by his house-help, the loyal Samwise Gamgee (Sam for most part of the book). Later, Peregrin Took, a.k.a Pippin, and Meriadoc Brandybuck, Merry for short, join him in his dangerous road to Mt.Doom. The four rush for Bree, where Gandalf had asked them to come for counsel. There, they add to their company Strider (Aragorn), the Gondor king-in-exile. They ought to reach Rivendell as soon as possible to decide where they will go thence. Evil follows the company and, most importantly, the One-ring all throughout their deadly journey. In Rivendell, the nine-strong Fellowship is formed with Frodo as the ring-bearer. The council decides that the best way to see the Dark Lord Sauron off is to destroy the One-Ring at Mount Doom even though the task could be the most perilous one that anyone’d have ever taken. At the very end (of the book), Frodo is given two choices by the Fellowship, either to go with them to Minas Tirith to fight the Dark Lord with an army or to get to Mount Doom to destroy the Ring. Frodo improvises one option and takes it, despite the danger he foresees.

Why you should definitely read this book:

  • It is on every ‘Top 100 books’ list on the planet
  • The writing, though too descriptive for beginners like me, might please every literature loving reader
  • Tolkien, with his revolutionary storytelling, keeps surprising with unexpected turns in the tale
  • The creativity of Tolkien that extends to drawing, poetry and map charting is worth having a look on
  • You’ll have plenty to quote after you’ve done with this book

What I loved :

It was unlike anything that I’ve ever read. Tolkien’s text lets us visualise the whole landscape, the mind of the characters and the tension that runs all throughout Middle-Earth. The characterisation is something that inspired me. I’d want to write some character traits the next time I try writing a short story or something. The timidity of the Hobbits, the bravery of Men and the Elfs and the wisdom of Gandalf show us the diversity of the Middle Earth species and Tolkien’s imaginative prowess.

What I did not love :

  • The detail. Why does Tolkien have to mention the shape of the moon, the length of the shadows and the hunger of the company again and again and again and again ?
  • The poetry didn’t impress me much and pulled me out of the story each time it appeared. Except for the poems on Aragorn and the Rings at the beginning, nothing was fantastic or even good. [Note: ‘The Fall of Arthur’  by J.R.R Tolkien and his son Christopher Tolkien has been voted the ‘Best Poetry book of 2013’ at goodreads.com more than 30 years after Tolkien’s death. Remember, Opinions vary! ]
  • This book is not what you should read when you’re travelling and isn’t your bedtime book either. It takes a lonely environment, a backpack of eatables and a full day’s leave to read it with the focus that this magnum opus deserves

On ‘The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001 Movie)’ by Peter Jackson:

The story of the movie is quite different and the development is faster than the book (Though the running time is 3 hours and 20 minutes). It was a very visually appealing and pleasing movie with a matching cast. However, I felt the improvisations were bad as they seemed to mock at my anticipation.

[Note: The movie is considered one of the best movies ever made and has won a plethora of awards including the Oscars. Opinions vary, again!]

Your views are encouraged. You can choose to agree or disagree with my opinions. I’d be glad to know what you thought of the book.

Please suggest me a good book if you have the time!

Good day!

Check out my other books reviews:

‘The Godfather’ by Mario Puzo – A Must Read

‘The Hobbit’ by J.R.R Tolkien – A Good Read

3 thoughts on “The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring – J.R.R Tolkien | Book Review

  1. I agree with your views on this. While Tolkien’s one of the authors who got me into fantasy, I now find his prose too heavy handed. The fact that he was more interested in world building than story telling shows through the level of background detail and description he includes, which makes for a rich and interesting world but would be better if it was slightly moderated.

    Are you going to follow this up with the other two volumes?

    Like

    • I’m already halfway through ‘The Two Towers’ and I’m finding it extremely difficult to read it in the pace I usually do. Will post my review on that soon (Though it won’t differ much)
      Can you please recommend me a fantasy book (without the descriptiveness) ?

      Like

      • Terry Pratchett’s Discworld books are very accessible. The first few are a bit rough around the edges and more focussed on parodying the fantasy genre, so I’d recommend starting with Guards Guards or one of the witches books.

        Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy is a great example of the recent trend of fantasy that’s ostensibly aimed at teenagers but rich and deep enough for adults to enjoy.

        And if you like something action packed and cynical then Joe Abercrombie’s First Law Trilogy is also well worth a read. It’s more straight-forward fantasy than the other two I’ve recommended, but not bogged down in Tolkien-style prose.

        Like

What do you think?

